February Music Bests

This month had so much music! A lot of good CD’s, a lot of good singles, just a great music month in general. As usual, see my hypem page for all the gory details of what I listen to.

Singles

3. Fever Ray – If I Had A Heart (Fuck Buttons Remix) [mediafire]

I’m a softie for the long, slow, sad remixes with heavy beats. Especially ones that draw on a lil’ of the ol’ post-rock for inspiration. I haven’t listened to the original enough to determine which I like better, yet.

2. Lonely Island – I’m On A Boat (Ft. T-Pain) [mediafire]

I don’t like “funny” songs. Normally. I just can’t stop loving I’m On A Boat! The first time I heard it, I thought it was just a terrible, terrible hip hop song. Turned out, it was. But it also is funny and clever, and T-Pain really puts his all into the song. Natalie’s Rap [mediafire] is also, uh, transcendent.

1. The Click Five – Headlight Disco [mediafire]

I don’t like this band. I don’t like the vocal styles. I don’t like the musical style. I don’t like anything, individually, about this song. It’s just so damn catchy.  I can’t stop singing the chorus over and over in my head!  More 70’s than 80’s (I think), what they’ve crafted is a really great pop song; listen for yourself.

Album

The Pains of Being Pure At Heart, The Pains Of being Pure At Heart

You know what pains me?  Agreeing with pitchfork two months in a row.  Especially for such a self-consciously hipstery band (see music video below).  But I’m judging this on the music, and I love this music.  The sound of 90’s shoegaze pop is a surefire hook into my soul.  Anyone channeling Lush or My Bloody Valentine is guaranteed to be on my playlist somewhere – this one just happens to have the whole CD on repeat.

Honorable mention goes to Fever Ray, the “solo project” of one member of The Knife, even though both members of the Knife work on Fever Ray.  Uhh, I don’t know how that works, but I think with a few more listens the Fever Ray album will be played all year.

Leave a Reply

