January Music Bests

To catalogue my musical experiences for the month, I’m going to present my three favorite singles and my favorite CD that I found this month. I think the theme for the month was “folk/country”, surprisingly. A lot of the singles that I enjoyed (and found on hypemachine) were in that vein. I, of course, have my horrible taste on display at hypem to make it easy for everyone to judge me.

Singles
3. Jay-Z – My President Is Black [mediafire]
I think Obama’s inauguration is obscuring my better judgment, but hey, if there was any month to listen to this song, it was this January. Runner-up was the not-incredibly-inspired but incredibly-fun Royksopp remix, “What Else Is There (Thin White Duke Remix)” [mediafire].

2. Frontier Ruckus – Orion Town 2 [mediafire]
I love me some country/folk. And how can you not appreciate a band that will name themselves “Frontier Ruckus”?

1. Soko – I’ll Kill Her [mediafire]
A song by an obsessive, murdering ex-girlfriend with an adorable french accent. How can you not love it?

Album
Deerhunter, Microcastle
Yeah, I’m finally jumping on the Deerhunter bandwagon. I don’t think it was as great as some other people do, but the soft vocals and tinkling music just kept drawing me in.

In other news, the Coachella lineup is out and once again it is awesome. Also, Lil’ Wayne is going to make a rock CD and the leaked songs are terrible.

Leave a Reply

