Top 10 CDs of 2008 – Part 3

5. Cut CopyBright Like Neon Love

I got hooked on Cut Copy by their amazing album, In Ghost Colors. Craving more, I downloaded their first effort, Bright Like Neon Love. At first I felt tepid, luke-warm, even mild about this fantastic disc. But I slowly came to understand that while not as rambunctiously fun as their newest CD, their original was something to be treasured; I’m not sure if it’s just a little more complex, a little more downbeat, or a little more flawed, but it is something that stuck with me on those long nights of dishwashing.

4. The StreetsOriginal Pirate Material

How did I miss this so many years ago? “I’m 45th generation Roman, But I don’t know ’em, or care when I’m spittin’“. This guy is some sort of crazy intelligent chav, but his rhyming is so smooth and lyrics so unique that I can’t stop listening to him.

3. PortisheadThird

When I bought Third, I sat down with headphones on to work and listen to it as background noise. About halfway through I thought to myself, “This is fucking amazing.” It’s the only CD that made me think that all year, that really knocked my socks off. Portishead is intelligent and haunting, and is pretty much on repeat when I sit down to listen to a CD these days.

2. Crystal CastlesCrystal Castles

My favorite song is actually not even on this CD. But it’s the best of the 8-bit scene this year, which is really all you need to know. So much of their CD appeared on my various mixes throughout the year, that I’m going to be listening to them for a looong time.

1. Cut CopyIn Ghost Colors

Another CD that I didn’t like when I first heard it, which I suppose means I shouldn’t trust my taste. I thought the songs were cheesy and not particularly interesting. But I kept listening to it and listening to it; it is insanely catchy and the perfect background music for pretty much everything. Some songs from this CD are even starting to threaten Black Sheep Boy for the honor of being most-played over the last couple years.

Whew, glad I’m done with that. Now back to posting real stuff.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 CDs of 2008 – Part 3

  1. “Alice Practice” is the 2nd song on Crystal Castles’ debut album. Maybe you downloaded a bootleg of their demos??

  2. Hmm, I guess I was misinformed. The copy I have does indeed have “Alice Practice” as the second song, but I thought that I saw an ‘official version’ without it. I think that was the version on hypemachine’s end of the year “best CDs” list?

  3. I have a physical copy, it’s track 2.
    CC Forever.

Leave a Reply

