Top 10 CDs of 2008 – Part 1

I want to keep track of my favorite ten CD’s that I discovered in 2008. This is not a list of CD’s that came out in 2008 – it is a list of CD’s that found their way onto my hard drive. I’ll do a list of singles afterward if I can figure out how to put up an audio player in my posts. You may now commence judging me.

#10 on my list is Portland band A Weather‘s new CD, Cove. This band easily has the most awkward band name to say this year, and that’s good enough to make it on the list. The male-female duet is hushed, patient, and perfect to listen to on a rainy morning. Their best song is Pinky Toe – I have a weakness for pointlessly long songs – but the rest of the CD is pretty damn good, too. Here’s the music video to the final song on their CD, It’s Good To Know.

Next is M83‘s Saturdays = Youth. I have mixed feelings about this one. It is undeniably good (undeniably), but it is nowhere near their previous two efforts. They have moved away from soundscapes and moved toward a less interesting new-wavey idiom. A for effort, but no A+ this time, guys! Here’s a video to their big single, Kim And Jessie, wherein the band shows their love for pink dance outfits, roller skating, and awkward choreography.

OK, more than two youtube’s in one post seems like a bit much, I’ll stop there for now. More to come later in the day.

Leave a Reply

