Top 10 CDs of 2008 – Part 2

8. The AnniversaryDesigning A Nervous Breakdown

I’d been searching for this CD for a long, long time.  The Anniversary put out two CDs before breaking up, and Your Majesty is a fucking masterpiece and is  on my list of all-time favorite CDs.  I kept hearing great things about their first CD, too, but I could never find it – until Avery just started playing it one day in our apartment.  This is definitely one of the hidden gems of early 2000 pop-punk.

7. ShearwaterRook

Speaking of all time favorite CDs, another is Okkervil River‘s Black Sheep Boy.  Shearwater is a sideproject of theirs to focus on quieter music.  Acoustic(ish) and somewhat mellow like A Weather but much darker and more menacing.  A little embarrasingly, I have not yet heard Okkervil River’s new CD, hopefully I’ll check it out before next year’s list?

6. Why?Alopecia

The first time I heard this CD I thought, “Oh wow, it’s a bunch of pretentious white Berkeley students rapping.  Aren’t they clever.”  They did have a couple of catchy songs, but I thought that was all there was to them.  Luckily, Priya kept playing them and I caught on to why these guys are so great.  Definitely a CD you have to listen through a few times before you can appreciate them.  They’re a wee bit strange, so give them a listen to judge for yourself.  The only proper music video is to my least favorite song of theirs, but what are ya gonna do.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 CDs of 2008 – Part 2

  1. Avery played it on the drive down from the Bay Area after the fires in San Diego!

    • Uh, yes, that is correct, I have a bad memory. I’ll say this still counts because I didn’t get a copy of the CD until January?

Leave a Reply

